Balancenusa

We come to You: Massage, Beauty or Fitness

Grant Me The Wisdom to Know the Difference

**

Image by SuLeS via Flickr

We have all heard the Serenity Prayer (it is also AA’s credo):

May I continue to strive to maintain the

Serenity to accept the things that I cannot change,

Courage to change the things that can,

and the

Wisdom to know the difference.

This is also in line with a great post by Seth Godin, one of my all time favourites, Do you have 16 boxes. In this post Seth says something that is pertinent in so many ways at the moment. The economic situation is on everyones lips it seems, funnily enough even people with no money to lose are talking about the stock market crash as if they are personally involved and how bad the economy is.

Now, ok, I get it we might be in for some hard times, we might even have to be a little creative and step out of our carefully constructed boxes to maintain an income or dare I say it, prosper. So personally I am going to treat it as an adventure and a dare (finding ways to prosper in the economic downturn).

All I hear though from everyone else is doom and gloom, not helped at all by the media. I’ll let you into a little secret, the media do not believe half of the garbage they sell as news, they use what will sell.

Anyway back to what I am trying to say, and the Serenity Prayer and Seth both say if for me. Instead of dooming a glooming, try asking yourself:

What can I change?

What can I focus on to create an income and to sustain us through this downturn?

What creative ways can I think of to change my life to create flow?

What box can I step out of?

What dream can I finally go for (because I have nothing to hold on to now anyway, I might as well take a risk)?

Go on, I dare you to treat it all as an adventure and a test of your daring, go for it, I know you can!

Negative thoughts create negative well-being and if you are to get through the ‘new depression’ without becoming depressed and creating ill health, you will need to think a little differently.

live a balanced life…

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
October 20, 2008 - Posted by | General, Wellness | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

